My Little Nook

Hi! I know it has been over a year since I made an entry. For that I am truly sorry, however that is on my list of things to improve.

My little nook has changed a lot.

April 2, 2014 – a week after my chevron blanket post, I drove to Dixie Inn, La. to celebrate my grandmother’s 75th birthday with her. She died a few days later and the biggest, kindest influence on my life was gone. She was the foundation of our family and we will never be the same… I mean, who is the same after experiencing loss? Though I was grieving (and still am) I am rejoicing that she was no longer hurting. she was no longer burdened with a body that grew old while her spirit was still young. She is now in her eternal home, free of pain… strong… and no longer struggling.

There is one less person in my household since October 2014…. my husband. As much as I love him and want him to be with us, he is making destructive decisions that are harmful to himself and to our family and it is not healthy for us to reside in the same house. I pray every day for him and his relationship with God, with our children, and with me. It is hard not having my best friend here with me, unable to call him when I want to tell him something fantastic, missing his help raising our children….

I work full time as a 9-1-1 dispatcher but that wasn’t cutting it, with the financial setbacks courtesy of my best friend, and I was behind in everything. I called a family meeting (me and my kids) to discuss me getting a part time job. This included the hours, extra responsibility for the two teenagers, and the understanding that it was only temporary. With a unanimous vote, I obtained a part time job.

Well, I did catch up on bills, but my kids needed me more than we all thought (that story will have to be saved for another blog entry). I got a respiratory infection in January, but I was only slowed down for a couple of days and I went right back to driving the gravy train… until I fell. January 30, I fell and when I tried to catch myself, all I managed to do was dislocate my right elbow and break the head of the radius bone that is a part of that joint.

I have been off work ever since. I underwent surgery on March 25 and am currently in physical therapy.

This entire ‘vacation’ I have been unable to crochet, which is my way to de-stress. However, I have spent plenty of time with my children and I am so thankful for that opportunity.

Tomorrow I am going to pick up a hook and yarn again for the 1st time in a couple of months.

I will let you know how it goes in a couple of days 🙂

Thank you all for your continued prayers and good vibes.

Always…D

Leave a Reply

